Transparent leave accruals required

Lansdowne Branch Committee (left to right) Richard Bryce (Amity College, Prestons), Connie Holmes (St Therese Primary School, Lakemba), Janina Kozak (St John’s Primary School, Auburn), Alana Sullivan (St John Vianney’s Primary School, Greenacre), Andrew Oppitz (Holy Spirit College, Lakemba), Bernadette Hawthorne (John the Baptist Primary School, Bonnyrigg) and James Rooney (Mary Mackillop College, Wakeley).

Lansdowne Branch met on 11 March at Fairfield RSL for the AGM with representatives from 11 different schools. With all agreements up for renegotiation towards the end of this year issues of workloads and large class sizes were raised as common concerns confronting members across Branch.

Details of leave entitlements are not displayed on members’ payslips in the Sydney Archdiocese and the following resolution was passed unanimously by Branch:

“That the Lansdowne Branch of the IEU requests that Sydney Catholic Schools (SCS) provide each of its school employees with notice of their current sick leave accruals. We make this request in light of the changes to personal leave arrangements in the new Enterprise Agreement and the continuing difficulties members experience in accessing such information on PHRIS.”

The IEU is following this up with SCS. The Branch acknowledged the work of former Branch Secretary Kerryn Blanch, who has served in this position for the last two years and congratulated James Rooney and Janina Kozak on their re-election as Branch President and Branch Vice President and Bernadette Hawthorne who was elected Branch Secretary.

Our next meeting is on Thursday 19 May.