Nominations for the Early Childhood Services State Council

The role of the ECS Council is to provide advice and guidance to the IEU Executive and IEU Council on matters relevant to members employed in early childhood services. The Council meets three or four times a year in Sydney, usually on a Friday. The IEU pays for the relief teacher employed by your service whilst you attend the meeting, as well as travel and any accommodation needs of councillors from regional and remote areas (or country areas).

Members of the Council advise the Union on issues of importance to ECS members and assist in the development of Union submissions and responses to issues both industrial and professional in nature. The Union frequently makes submissions to governments at all levels and other bodies on behalf of our members on a wide range of issues.

The ECS Council is composed of eight members that are elected by and from members employed in Early Childhood Service plus the ECS Vice President. ECS members elect councillors from the following areas:

Three members are elected from the Sydney Metropolitan area including the Penrith/Blue Mountains area.

One member is elected from the South Coast including the Campbelltown area.

One member is elected from the Hunter Valley or Central Coast area.

Three members are elected from regional country areas other than those mentioned above.

If you are interested in standing for ECS Council please phone Verena Heron or Joanna Kotsakis on 8202 8900 for a nomination form.

Nominations close on 27 April 2018 Elections, if required, will be held in Term 2, 2018.