Moving forward

The major focus for IEU principal members in Catholic systemic schools has been the finalisation of enterprise agreements for the next three years. Appreciation is expressed to principal members for their input to this process via meetings, teleconferences and through the Principals Sub Branch.

Agreements have been forwarded via email to systemic principal members and are also outlined on page 5.

Wellbeing is a high priority for the IEU for all its members, including principals. The recent report of the Teachers Health Fund/Australian Catholic University (see page 7) on principals’ wellbeing shows very high levels of stress and workload pressure on principals and in the school workplace environment. This includes instances of verbal and physical violence towards principals and staff.

The THF/ACU wellbeing research will help inform the IEU’s ongoing discussions with employers and in future industrial negotiation.

The 2017 Principals’ Sub Branch AGM was held on 11 February at the IEU Parramatta office with President Christine Wilkinson in attendance.

Congratulations to Sidonie Coffey (Maitland-Newcastle Diocese) on her re-election as Principals Sub Branch president and to Des Fox (Sydney Archdiocese) and Jude Ryan (Wilcannia-Forbes) who will continue in the role of joint secretaries. Kathy Neely from Canberra-Goulburn Archdiocese was elected to the position of deputy president.

Sub Branch committee members include Alan Le Brocque, Louise O’Sullivan, Therese Seymour and Peter Galvin.

Further 2017 Principals Sub Branch meetings will be held on 6 May, 5 August and 4 November. The IEU also welcomes opportunities to meet with principals at diocesan, regional and local levels.

Pam Smith
Principals Organiser