Thanks for your loyalty

In 2013 the IEUA NSW/ACT Branch began acknowledging members with 30 years of continuous membership with a commemorative badge. Since that time we’ve presented hundreds of long-serving, loyal members with badges at chapter meetings, sub branch meetings and morning teas.

Local celebrations of loyal members help to remind members, old and new, of our collective achievements over the years. They also emphasise to potential members the importance of belonging to the union.

In 2021 the IEU is expanding this program to recognise the significant milestones our members reach as they progress through their careers and working lives.

Members who reach 40 years of continuous membership will receive a gift. We have already presented many of these: the IEU is proud to have 327 members who have been with us for four decades.

We’re still presenting 30-year badges. We’ll also send certificates to those members who have clocked up 10 years and 20 years of membership this year, so keep an eye on the post if you joined in 2001 or 2011. We’re delighted there are so many of you. If you’ve already passed your 10-year or 20-year anniversary, please let us know ( and we’ll gladly post you a certificate.

The IEU is incredibly proud to have 12 members who have reached 50 or more years of continuous membership. These members originally joined the Assistant Masters and Mistresses Association (AMMA) which then became the Independent Teachers Association (ITA) before it became the Independent Education Union (IEU). We will announce how we’ll honour these members at our IEU Council in June and in a future Newsmonth.

Keep an eye on upcoming editions of Newsmonth for more photos celebrating our loyal members.

David Towson

50 years ago: 1971

  • International Year for Action to Combat Racism and Prejudice
  • IEU was called the Assistant Masters and Mistresses Association (AMMA)
  • AMMA seeks a variation of the Award stating that sweeping classrooms is not a normal teaching duty
  • Prime Minister: John Gorton; William McMahon; NSW Premier: Sir Robert Askin
  • Federal Education Minister: Nigel Bowen; David Fairbairn; Malcolm Fraser; NSW: Charles Cutler
  • Australian of the Year: Tennis champion Evonne Goolagong
  • NSW Rugby League Premiers: South Sydney Rabbitohs
  • Patton took out Best Picture at the Academy Awards
  • V S Naipaul wins the Booker Prize for In a Free State
  • David Bowie releases Hunky Dory; Joni Mitchell releases Blue
  • Nobel Peace Prize awarded to West German Chancellor Willy Brandt for 'Ostpolitik' – embodying a new attitude towards Eastern Europe and East Germany

40 years ago: 1981

  • International Year for Disabled Persons
  • In the ACT, the Independent Schools Staff Association (ISSA) was registered to cover teachers in non-government schools
  • Teachers gained a 6.8% pay increase, including a Work Value Increase
  • Prime Minister: Malcolm Fraser; NSW Premier: Neville Wran
  • Federal Education Minister: Wal Fife; NSW: Paul Landa; Ron Mulock
  • Australian of the Year: Sir John Crawford, economist
  • NSW Rugby League Premiers: Parramatta Eels
  • Prince Charles and Lady Diana Spencer marry in July
  • Chariots of Fire takes out Best Picture at the Academy Awards
  • Salman Rushdie wins the Booker Prize for Midnight’s Children
  • The Rolling Stones release Tattoo You; Mondo Rock release Chemistry
  • Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees for its effective and continuous work on refugees

30 years ago: 1991

  • International Year of the World’s Indigenous People
  • AMMA (see 1971) now known as the Independent Teachers Association (ITA) in NSW
  • General strike: more than 50 per cent of Catholic teachers in Sydney and 80 per cent in Newcastle walked of the job in October to protest a NSW Industrial Relations Bill
  • Enterprise bargaining is legislated into NSW industrial law – the union urges members to consult with it before signing.
  • Prime Minister: Bob Hawke; Paul Keating; NSW Premier: Nick Greiner
  • Federal Education Minister: John Dawkins; Kim Beazley; NSW: Virginia Chadwick
  • NSW Rugby League Premiers: Penrith Panthers
  • The Silence of the Lambs wins Oscar for Best Picture
  • Ben Okri wins the Booker Prize for The Famished Road
  • Nobel Peace Prize awarded to Myanmar’s Aung San Suu Kyi for non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights

20 years ago: 2001

  • International Year of Volunteers
  • NSW Government establishes Institute of Teachers
  • IEU members stop work with others across the state to protest weakening of the workers' comp scheme
  • IEU elects its first Vice President Support Staff, Carolyn Collins, who holds the position to this day
  • September 11 terror attacks in the US spur attacks on local Islamic communities; staff and students in Catholic schools send letters of support to Malek Fahd Islamic School; the IEU leads Workplace Harmony campaign
  • Prime Minister: John Howard; NSW Premier: Bob Carr
  • Federal Education Minister: David Kemp; Brendan Nelson; NSW: John Aquilina; John Watkins
  • NRL Premiers: Newcastle Knights
  • A Beautiful Mind wins the Oscar for Best Picture
  • Australian author Peter Carey wins the Booker Prize for The True History of the Kelly Gang
  • Kylie Minogue releases Fever•Australian of the Year: Lieutenant General Peter Cosgrove, Chief of Army
  • Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the UN led by Kofi Annan

2011: 10 years ago

  • International Year of Chemistry
  • David Gonski concludes the landmark Federal Government Review Into School Funding
  • Catholic schools were moved into the Federal industrial relations system
  • NSW Liberal government strips the Industrial Relations Commission of its independence, meaning it can no longer award pay rises above the public sector cap. It was the last year a pay rise for teachers exceeded 2.5%
  • Prime Minister: Julia Gillard; NSW Premier: Kristina Keneally; Barry O’Farrell
  • Federal Education Minister: Peter Garrett; NSW: Verity Firth; Adrian Piccoli
  • NRL Premiers: Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
  • The Artist takes out Best Picture at the Academy Awards
  • Booker Prize: Julian Barnes for The Sense of an Ending
  • Geoffrey Gurumul Yunupingu releases Rrakala
  • Australian of the Year: Simon McKeon, philanthropist
  • Nobel Peace Prize: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman for their non-violent struggle for women's and the right to participate in peace building